2016 First Place Team - Northrop Grumman Alpha

2019      2018      2017      2016      2015      2014      2013


It was another exciting, fun competition for the hundreds of students who traveled from across the country and the team sponsors who participated in College Bowl XVII. A special thank you to the HENAAC College Bowl sponsor, NASA, for continuing to provide this exceptional learning experience for the students.

The 2016 event focused on developing the student's leadership, team building and communication skills through five rounds of competitions. At the end of the day, the winning team credits go to: 1st Place – Northrop Grumman Alpha; 2nd Place – Northrop Grumman One; and 3rd Place – The Raytheon Company.

In the end, all teams are winners, as the students, coaches and judges had dynamic time learning, worked together, and developed extensive professional networks. Congratulations to all who participated!

First Place Team: Northrop Grumman Alpha

  • Rick Cairo - American River College
  • Carly Erker - University of Central Florida
  • Adriana Flores - Santa Ana College
  • Alejandro Gomez - University of California, Berkeley
  • William Gonzalez - University of South Florida
  • Amy Lai - University of Central Florida
  • Cristian Lizama - Florida International University
  • Leo McAfee - University of Texas at San Antonio
  • Christian Montes - University of California, Merced
  • Ulyses Sanchez-Rea - California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
  • Alejandro Torres-Duran - California State University, Long Beach
  • Jorge Narvaez - Coach
  • Reina Villanueva - Assistant Coach
  • Elise Ketcham Judge

Second Place Team: Northrop Grumman One

  • William Buchanan - University of South Florida
  • Jorge De Haro Silva - University of California, Merced
  • Daniela Delgado - University of South Florida
  • Felipe Gutierrez - University of South Florida
  • Jennifer Jimenez - University of South Florida
  • Sergio Jimenez - University of California, Merced
  • Roberto Jimenez-Rojas - University of Nevada, Reno
  • Oyetunji Oyewole - University of Florida
  • Gabriel Picazo - University of California, Merced
  • Anthony Ramirez - California State University, Long Beach
  • Diego Ugalde - California State University, Long Beach
  • Antony Velez - University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez
  • Pablo Mendoza - Coach
  • Adriana Magan - Assistant Coach
  • Silvia Osuna - Judge

Third Place Team: The Raytheon Company

  • Juan Benitez - Texas A&M University
  • Gabriel Fontanez-Matos - University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez
  • Jose E. Guzman-Cora - University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez
  • Nicholas Kasdjono - College of the Canyons
  • Jose Perez-Betancourt - University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez
  • Karina Rodriguez - Santa Ana College
  • Cristian Sanchez - California State University, Sacramento
  • Andres Urias - University of Texas at Arlington
  • Josian Vélez - University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez
  • Jesus Villalobos - California State University, Sacramento
  • Christopher Wentland - Rice University
  • Alexandra Cintron-Aponte - Coach
  • Veronica Boesen - Assistant Coach
  • Miguel Siu - Judge


Information on the David Burris Award is available here


Deanna Huertas - University of South Florida
William Robins - University of Central Florida

Morganna Ochoa - University of Louisiana, Lafayette
Joseph Schmidt - New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology

Rosario Diaz - University of Houston
Ike Amaliri - Texas A&M University - Kingsville

Raveena Heer - University of South Florida
Manuel Losada - Florida International University